Tuesday, January 13, 2009

Cristiano Ronaldo - FIFA Player of the Year for 2008

Cristiano Ronaldo was named as FIFA World Player of the Year for 2008, and although he insisted he will strive to recapture his top form, the Portuguese star has warned it will be impossible to maintain the standards of last season.

Ronaldo, who also won FIFA’s Club World Cup with United in 2008, faced competition from fellow nominees Xavi Hernandez, Fernando Torres, Lionel Messi and Kaka.

Ronaldo becomes the fist player from the Premier League to win the coveted title, which has so far only been awarded to players based at clubs in Italy or Spain.

The Portugal international, who also picked up the European Player of the Year crown in December and the FifPro World Footballer of the Year honour in October, paid special tribute to United boss Sir Alex Ferguson.

In the women’s category, Brazilian sensation Marta was victorious, winning for the third year in succession.

The FIFA Fair Play Awards went jointly to the Armenia and Turkey Football Federations for the work they did in helping bring the two countries together politically, socially and football-wise.

The FIFA Presidential Award was presented to the United States Women’s National Team.

Source from

I'm Proud of you C.Ronaldo!!! Now Man Utd got FIFA Player of the world!


SaeWei said...

My "ex"-husband~~~~~~

Bryan Hoo said...

hahaha you "ex" husband pula..
so the one in your stomach one is...... =p